The South East Adoption and Special Guardianship Leadership Board is chaired by Hilary Brooks, Service Director, Children, Families and Education, Southampton City Council.

The current Terms of Reference of the South East Adoption and Special Guardianship Leadership Board are attached.

The current membership of the South East Adoption and Special Guardianship Leadership Board is attached.

Rosemary Perry is the Project Lead.


South East Region ASGLB Meeting Dates for 2018

Friday 23rd February, 11.00am, Maidstone

Friday 8th June, 11.00am, Arora Hotel, Crawley

Friday 12th October 2018, Arora Hotel, Crawley, RH10 6LW

Friday 11th Janaury 2019, 11.00am, Arora Hotel, Crawley, RH10 6LW.

The work of the National Adoption and Special Guardianship Leadership Board

The Adoption Leadership Board (ALB) was established in 2014 to provide leadership to the adoption system and drive improvements in performance. The Consortium of Voluntary Adoption Agencies (CVAA) has a contract with the DfE to provide a management and secretariat service for the ALB.

The ALB is made up of 12 senior officials from key organisations in the adoption system in England. This includes colleagues from local authorities, voluntary adoption agencies, the Department for Education, and independent experts.

The ALB is chaired by Andrew Christie, who was appointed by the Education Secretary in March 2016. Andrew has over 40 years’ experience on the front line of children’s social care and is also the commissioner for children’s social care in Birmingham and chair of the Lambeth Safeguarding Children Board. Previously, Andrew has acted as the Executive Director of Children’s Services for London’s Tri-borough area and as Chair of Health, Care and Additional Needs Policy Committee at ADCS.

National Adoption and Special Guardianship Leadership Board Members 

Organisation  Position  Name 
  Chair Andrew Christie
Association of Directors of Children’s Services (ADCS) President

Stuart Gallimore

ADCS Chair of Health, Care and Additional Needs Policy Committee Charlotte Ramsden
Adoption UK Chief Executive 

Sue Armstrong-Brown

CoramBAAF  Director  John Simmonds 
CVAA Chief Executive Officer  Annie Crombie 
Department for Education  Director of children’s social care, practice and workforce Katy Willison, Tabitha Bruf 
Local Government Association (LGA) Chair of the Children and Young People’s Board  Cllr Lucy Nethsingha 
CAFCASS Chief Executive Officer Anthony Douglas 

Hadley Centre

Professor of Social Work  Professor Julie Selwyn


Judicial Observer Mr Justice MacDonald
  Professional Adviser to the Board Mark Owers






Next Meeting

Friday 12th October 2018, 10.30am – 12.30pm Arora Hotel, Crawley, RH10 6LW

For more details please contact Rosemary Perry (details below).


Contact Details

Adoption and Complex Care Needs Projects: Rosemary Perry
07739 853434